Is it important to speak in tongues?

Speaking-in-tongues

Why is it so important for born again Christians to speak in tongues? What does it mean if you cant speak in tongues?

1 Like

There is so much theology involved in this question that it is not very comfortable responding or giving an opinion. There are also denominational issues attached. I would like to address this as simple as I possibly can:

I have friends who I’m sure are Christians and they speak in tongues. Praise God!

I know in my heart that I too am a Christian and I don’t speak in tongues. Praise God!

Hello, dear @Bestill
Great question, I love the kind that makes me think about how to answer and even investigate to make a proper opinion if I really think I have something good to say. In my opinion, and I’m not an expert at all, this is one of the gifts that the Lord has given only to a select few. So it’s not something as important to the common man, because it’s basically unreachable for him, it’s a duty that only a few are chosen by the Lord as a mission to express a message. This does not mean that these people are more wise or special than others, it’s just the path God choose for them. I think this summarizes all: “God has appointed these in the church: first apostles, second prophets, third teachers, after that miracles, then gifts of healings, helps, administrations, varieties of tongues. Are all apostles? Are all prophets? Are all teachers? Are all workers of miracles? Do all have gifts of healings? Do all speak with tongues? Do all interpret?” 1 Corinthians 12:28-30.
Kind regards, Luis Guerrero

Speaking in tongues is one of the gifts of the holy spirit. It is a language that can be spoken without being able to learn it and it cannot be understood by any one except if they have gift of interpretation. Not all of us can do it, and I don’t think it means anything. Its just that, we have a different gift. :slight_smile: